Paid Sick Leave Update From NYC SBS

Posted on: March 27, 2014, by :

While there is more detailed information included in the attachments, some key points to note are included below. For more information, please consult the attachments and the City of New York website:

  1. The law goes into effect on April 1, 2014Go to for information
  2. Employers with five (5) or more employees who work more than 80 hours per calendar year in New York City must provide paid sick leave. Employers with fewer than five employees must provide unpaid sick leave. See FAQ for exempt employers.
  3. Domestic workers who have worked for the same employer for more than one year and work more than 80 hours a calendar year earn two (2) days of paid sick leave. Accrual and use of sick leave for domestic workers follows New York State Labor Law.
  4. To determine number of employees, employer should count full-time, part-time, and temporary employees if they work more than 80 hours per calendar year in New York City. See FAQ for employees who are covered and not covered by the law.
  5. Employers must give their employees the required Notice of Employee Rights created by the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA).
  6. Employees earn up to 40 hours of sick leave per calendar year.
  7. Employees accrue one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of sick leave per calendar year.
  8. An employer’s existing employees begin accruing sick leave on April 1. New employees begin accruing sick leave on their first day of employment.
  9. Existing employees can start using sick leave starting July 30. New employees can start using sick leave 120 days after the first day of employment.
  10. The law sets the minimum requirements for sick leave. An employer’s leave policies may already meet or exceed the requirements of the law.

The four attachments include information on the following:

For further information, employers may contact the Department of Consumer Affairs as described below.